IEEE 802.1 Standard Description
802.1D Relates to MAC Bridges. It defines the architecture and bridge operation of wired Ethernet.
802.1Q Defines VLAN tagging and trunking. It allows multiple bridged networks to transparently share the same physical network link without leakage of information between networks.
802.1X Provides an authentication mechanism to devices wishing to attach to a LAN or WLAN.
802.1AE Specifies MAC Security (MACsec), providing encryption and integrity protection for data on Ethernet links.
802.1AX Formerly known as 802.3ad, it defines Link Aggregation Control Protocol (LACP) for bundling several physical ports to form a single logical link.
802.1Qbb Provides Priority-based Flow Control (PFC) for Ethernet, allowing for lossless Ethernet transport.
802.1Qaz Defines Enhanced Transmission Selection (ETS), which provides bandwidth management among different traffic types.
802.1Qau Specifies Congestion Notification (QCN), which aims to mitigate congestion in Ethernet networks.
802.1AC Refines the definition of VLAN tagging as specified in 802.1Q.
802.1Qca Path Control and Reservation for Data Traffic, providing a way to manage traffic paths within a network.
802.1Qcj Provides for Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) capabilities that are applicable in bridged and virtual bridged networks.
Revision: 2
Last modified: Feb 28, 2024


Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.

Post Comment